Curedy My Poison Ivy Rash With Brake Cleaner.


Curedy My Poison Ivy Rash With Brake Cleaner.

I recently bought a house and started cleaning up all of the overgrown ivy in the backyard only to find out that it was all poison ivy. I'm horribly reactive to poison ivy and have been in agony for 2 days and covered head to toe in itchy blisters.

Last night I started looking into what makes the itch, only to find out that it's an oil called Urushiol that attaches to your skin and won't let go. You scratch, it spreads. My dad was a grease monkey when I was a kid and I remember that if he had to get his hands completely clean, he'd spray them with brake cleaner.

As a last ditch effort last night I sprayed myself down with a $2 can of brake cleaner from Wal-Mart. The itching immediately stopped and the rash started losing it's redness. Now, I have to point out that this is probably not the healthiest thing to have on you for long periods of time, but it immediately and completely negates the urushiol oil.

This picture is before treatment, 10 minutes after treatment, and then this morning. http://ift.tt/2fLDjAZ

Leave a comment